This week so far

19Aug08

It’s only Tuesday night, but I feel like I have lived ten weeks already!  This week, I am co-facilitating a group at the Orchard Gardens Community Center in Boston.  So far, it’s been a great experience.  The girls are very giggly (we had to take a giggle break today, so they could get their laughter out).  I think they’re also really excited (and I am pretty sure that they like us) though it has been a little wild so far.  They’ve done some limit testing, but nothing that my co-facilitator, Leah, and I can’t handle.

I do really think that this is something I am interested in pursuing as a career.  I am not sure what I will have to do to make this sort of thing happen, but at the same time, there MUST be a place for me somewhere that I can make this work.  It’s like teaching, but in a whole different capacity — being a little more attainable and approachable than a teacher.  At any rate, it’s been fulfilling and exhausting, and it’s only Tuesday.  I am interested to see how it will go during the rest of the week.

Marc and I are hosting book club this week, on Thursday.  I am excited to have people over to the house, but I am not in love with the book that we’re reading.  (Peony in Love by Lisa See)  I think that it will foster really interesting conversation though, because some people really like the book, other people do not.  I will surely write about it at some point.  Stay tuned.

I am also excited for Friday (other than obvious pro-weekend reasons…) because we’re going to see Sara and Abby!  Abby’s been on bed rest for a few weeks and Marc and I are excitedly awaiting a visit with them, and their bun-in-the-oven, Sprout.  We’re bringing Thai food so Abby can indulge her drunken noodle craving from OUR local Thai place, Thai moon.

So, it’s been a busy week for me, and there’s still more to come!

4 Responses to “This week so far”

  1. 1 Marc

    You can do anything within your dreams. You are wildly capable of anything you ever do, and the world will take notice soon enough!

  2. 2 Dan

    It is cool to see that you found something you really like doing. I’m a little hazy on the details though – what is facilitating a group as you mean it?

  3. 3 elysabethreichman

    It’s a curriculum based program for girls–talking about Self Esteem, Media Literacy, Choices and Decision Making etc.

  4. 4 Aunty Mary

    Do you remember needing a “giggle-break”? Oh, to be young again! I think what you’re doing is amazing!


Leave a Reply

