Si Se Puede

29Aug08

Marc and I have spent the four days glued to CNN, NBC Network News and the PBS coverage of the DNC.  I am feeling surged with a crazy patriotism that I haven’t felt in years.  Probably not since I was in 5th Grade and Sister Haroldine let us watch Clinton’s ’92 Inauguration in her classroom along with the 6th graders.  I have been sitting at my spot on the couch, engaged and enthralled, hooting and hollering, and applauding loudly, stomping on the floor, shouting YES WE CAN.  My downstairs neighbor is probably a little concerned.

I am SO excited for this election, SO excited to have a candidate that (almost) everyone I know has gotten behind.  I like the idea of electing someone who has actually physically engaged and worked with hard-working, low paid individuals.  I like that someone has their eyes on the future for the WHOLE country, not just an elite few.  And, I like that my future children (whenever I decide to have children, don’t read anything into this) can be brought up in a country where the people have chosen a presidential candidate based on his goals for our country, instead of concentrating on his skin color and name.

My brother said to me this week, “I just want to know what it feels like to have the person you vote for actually WIN the presidential race.”  I totally agree–I could first vote in the 2000 campaign, and we all know how that turned out.  (and 2004, too, obviously!)  I am extraordinarily hopeful that Barack Obama will win (and win by a landslide), and will change our crippled nation.  I hope that the wait for a winner will be well worth it.

2 Responses to “Si Se Puede”

  1. 1 Dan

    I too am excited by politics at this time, except my reason is that John McCain totally nailed his VP pick with Sarah Palin.

    An old friend and I were discussing the DNC and all of the crying audience members and how we wish we could be that influenced by a politician. Today during the Palin speech I kinda felt like that.

  2. 2 elysabethreichman

    I’m glad you are feeling that way. I can’t say I agree with you, though.


Leave a Reply

