A word from Michael Kors

04Sep08

“The crotch of those pants are every woman’s nightmare.  It looks like you forgot something in there…” 

– Michael Kors

That little tidbit of information from MK pretty much signifies the loss of Stella “Leatha Head” Zotis on Project Runway this week.  In a challenge that gave the designers an opportunity to venture into the world of Diane Von Furstenburg, Stella pulled out a crazy vest, a bulging crotch pair of pants and a crazy Dracula cape.  Oh dear.  It’s no wonder she was auf’ed.

OK, so this episode was extremely hard for me to watch. I don’t know if you know this about me (a few of you actually probably do), but I absolutely CANNOT stand when people cry on reality television. I can’t. I don’t feel any pity for them, and I do not even try to begin to comprehend what they’re going through. I know it’s stressful and hard, but at the end of the day, you put yourself on TV in the first place, it’s not like someone forced you. AND, it annoys me. This hatred of reality show tears was extraordinarily exemplified by frickin Kenley, last night. She cried when she saw Diane von Furstenburg. She cried when she found out they were going to the sample room. She cried when she found out that everyone else was making separates and she was just making a dress. She cried she cried she cried. In one episode, I am pretty sure she cried more tears than Ricky did last season. And that guy cried a LOT.

Some photographic evidence for you:

I couldn’t find any damn pictures of Kenley crying, but believe me, her red, watery, sad eyes were worse than Ricky’s.  They were even worse than his little mesh train conductor’s hat.

Beyond Kenley’s tears, here’s what I have to say.

1. I am not sure why everyone is ganging up on Terri. I mean, maybe they’re annoyed that she keeps “pulling out the same thing”, but the judges have never remarked on this, and so I don’t think that it is as obvious. Uli got to the end of the show with her floaty dresses, and Laura Bennett kept pulling out those cocktail dresses. It happens. I mean, it also goes to show that she isn’t winning BECAUSE of the similarities in outfits, but I don’t know why she’s coming under such criticism.  Maybe her peers know that she’s awesome.  It could be that.

2. I’m actually OK that Stella’s gone. She really doesn’t have a “classical” sense of fashion and seriously no fashion history, and I think that that is what bit her in the end. Especially with that cape. (The Dracula cape)  I am pretty sure that she will be ok, too.  I would not be shocked to find out if she had some sort of crazy “rock star” following.  She probably loves Jeffrey Sebilia.

3. I feel bad for Korto–she seems nice in the work room but she does not come off as nice on the runway. Lots of eye-rolling.

4. I am glad Leanne won, but she definitely belongs to the Jillian Lewis school of not showing emotion. Sheesh. But her dress was definitely sexy and slinky, and the most beautiful of them all.

5. Can someone please explain to me why it’s such a big deal that her dress is being sold EXCLUSIVELY to AmEx cardholders? Wouldn’t it be better if it was sold to anyone? I mean, I guess the fact that it’s being sold period is a good thing, though.

6. I have absolutely no idea what the previews for next week were about, but it looks AMAZING. Lotsa drama.  Heidi Klum saying something like “That is not cuuuuute.”  Amazing.  I cannot wait.

7. Oh, Joe. I almost forgot about you and then I thought about the shiny, neon, backless nightmare. Oh gross. Gross gross.  He’s next, I think.

2 Responses to “A word from Michael Kors”

  1. 1 Marc Reichman

    I was curious about #5 myself, but I think it was in DVF’s catalog, and that was the big deal, or something.. it’s just brand placement.

    Terri needs to step it up for real, or just be mediocre forever.

  2. 2 Megan

    your commentaries make my day….. and i must confess, i too have a blog. not as exciting as the one i read… but here it is:

    http://from-treetops.livejournal.com/


Leave a Reply

