…waiting…

10Sep08

I am not a very good waiter.  Not as in “food server” but as in “one who waits.”  I am horrifically impatient and I just want to KNOW.  This is a trait that my husband does NOT find endearing.  And of course, I am fully aware that it is annoying.  And yet…

I find that I spend a lot of time waiting.  Waiting for my birthday.  Waiting for my engagement.  Waiting for my wedding.  Waiting to find out about houses, jobs, friends’ babies to be born.  It’s ridiculous.  I think for something that I have to do so often, I would get better at it.

I’m not.

I think this is one of the reasons why I have taken up knitting and crocheting, because I absolutely need something to do with my hands and fingers, so that I don’t spend too much time in my own brain, coming up with likely and unlikely scenarios about the things I am waiting for.  Even my writing has suffered with my growing impatience.  In silence, I become over-focused and grow nervous.

So here I wait.  Someone call me!  (If you know me, you know what this is in reference to.)

2 Responses to “…waiting…”

  1. 1 karadouglas

    i like your writing. dont wait any longer. ck out my writing
    http://karadouglas.wordpress.com/

  2. I’m sure you could get better at it through conscious practice.

    http://money.cnn.com/magazines/fortune/fortune_archive/2006/10/30/8391794/index.htm


Leave a Reply

