I feel Ted’s concern

04Oct08

On the season opener of How I Met Your Mother, it is revealed that Ted’s present love interest, Stella, has never seen his favorite movie, Star Wars.  It’s a big deal for him, because he absolutely loves the movie, and has to (jokingly) figure out if he can marry a woman who can’t appreciate his favorite movie.

You can see a little bit of the action in this clip (it’s the first half of the video…but if you haven’t seen How I Met Your Mother, this would probably be a good introduction to the show–and you should totally watch it!):

Well.

There are movies that Marc and I have tried to introduce to one another, in the hopes that the other person will share in the enjoyment.  Sometimes, like in the case of Seems Like Old Times, The Insider and Mighty Ducks 2, we have successes.  Other times, as in the case of Innerspace and Clifford…we have major failures and disappointments.

As I type this, Marc and I are watching Tootsie, which has been one of my favorite movies since I was maybe…12.  I have seen it maybe 150 times.  I have the lines memorized.  The movie sort of sweeps by in what seems like a minute, because I know it so well.  In the past 3 and a half years, I’ve only watched this movie by myself, probably subconsciously afraid that Marc will hate it.  Well, tonight I bit the bullet.  I had Marc put the computer away, I keep looking at him, watching his face to see what he thinks, enjoying every laugh, and when his attention wanes slightly, I’ve gestured towards the TV to make sure he doesn’t miss a line.

The result?  So far, so good.  I’m hopeful, just like Ted.

One Response to “I feel Ted’s concern”

  1. 1 Marc

    It was legen… wait for it… DARY!


Leave a Reply

