Single dog-parenthood

28Feb09

Marc’s back from England, but let me tell you….it’s kind of been a long week without him.  He left on Monday morning, when I promptly freaked my freak and decided that I could NOT. FIND. MY. PHONE.  And instead of calmly looking for it, I decided to have a major panic attack, that included tears, hyperventilating and freaking out.  Yes, that is just the kind of girl I am.  Thankfully, my sister stepped in to my rescue, calling my phone until I found it (yes, it was in my PURSE).  Aaaaand, we’re off to a rocky start.

Thankfully, Monday night, my friend Meaghan Q. came over to keep me company, and I fed her and taught her how to crochet.  It calmed me down and Marc and I were able to text a little, which was also nice.

The rest of the week, I was much more put together.  In that week, I came home early on Tuesday, as our storm doors were replaced, I went to book club, out to dinner with my good friend Jordan, held down the household AND was a pretty awesome single dog mom.  Let me tell you….I’m completely exhausted from my days as a single parent.  We don’t have a fenced in yard, and so much of my time was spent walking Job.  This probably wouldn’t have been so ridiculously exhausted had it not been freezing outside 3 out of the 5 days that Marc was gone.  It completely sapped the life out of me and I absolutely was exhauuuuuuusted by about 7:30 p.m.  And I was in bed by 9:30 p.m. every night!  I am not sure how single parents do it, because just the little (somewhat demanding) dog had done me in.

I’m happy to announce that Marc is back safely.  It seems like his trip to England was BUSY and that he did a ton of work.  He pretty much collapsed into bed yesterday upon arrival home (around 9:30 p.m.), and since I was so tired from dog mania, I fell right asleep too.  It’s so wonderful to have him home, not just to share the dog care, but also just to have a partner in crime!  I’m really excited to get back on our regular schedule and I’m so glad to be planning a week’s worth of dinners and other thrilling, mundane tasks.

No Responses Yet to “Single dog-parenthood”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

