Blogging Dinner: Spicy Pork and Kraut Sandwiches

02Mar09

Marc and I took self-imposed snow days today.  It snowed at least 16 inches, and neither of our jobs cancelled work.  Marc can work from home, but I cannot.  I can take the snow day (as a personal day), so I did.  And, since I can’t work from home, I surely did not.  Instead, I organized my recipe cards.  I have 2 recipe albums from my family bridal showers, and I also had old family favorite recipes in a recipe box, so I combined them and organized.  I also went through our Bon Appetit magazines and wrote out recipes on cards to file away.  It seems sort of tedious, but it was actually quite enjoyable.  Anyway, I told you that I’m on a big culinary kick.  It’s probably because Marc is back and it is much more fun to cook for more than just one.

Tonight’s dinner was fantastic.  It is from the Cooking Light Weeknight cookbook.

I forgot to take a before picture, and so a few bites are taken out of Marcs sandwich.

I forgot to take a "before" picture, and so a few bites are taken out of Marc's sandwich.

It’s ridiculously easy, and REALLY good.  True to form, I made it too spicy…something I have a tendency to do.  (Ahem, Megan O., Jordan and Marc can attest to this, after the Hungarian “Death Stew” that I made in September ’07.)  Aside from that (and you, dear readers, will not make it that spicy, I know it), it was amazing.  Here’s the recipe:

1/2 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp dried thyme

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/4 tsp salt

1 lb pork tenderloin, trimmed and cut crosswise into 1/4″ thick slices (we found some CHEAP boneless pork tenderloin.  Very budget conscious.)

1 tbsp canola oil, divided

4 c packaged cabbage-and-carrot coleslaw (about 8 oz)

1 tbsp prepared horseradish

1 tbsp red wine vinegar

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper

1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1/3 c fat free mayo

1 tbsp Dijon mustard

4 (2-ounce) Kaiser rolls

1.  Combine first 4 ingredients; sprinkle pork with herb mixture.  Heat 1 1/2 tsp oil in a large non-stick skillet over high heat.  Add pork, and cook 2 minutes on each side or until done.  remove pork from the pan, and keep warm.

2.  Heat remaining 1 1/2 tsp oil in pan over medium-high heat.  Add coleslaw and next 4 ingredients; cook 2 minutes, stirring frequently and remove from heat.

3.  Combine mayo and mustard, spread mixutre evenly over cut sides of rolls.  Divide pork and coleslaw mixture evenly among the bottom halves of rolls.  Cover with the top halves of rolls.

Yield:  4 servings

No Responses Yet to “Blogging Dinner: Spicy Pork and Kraut Sandwiches”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

