Blogging Dinner: Black Bean Soup

24Mar09

I found this great recipe on the Weight Watchers site, but tweaked it, to fit my love of tomatoes, and my great enjoyment of leftovers. (I made way more than 2 people need, but I will eat soup for every meal, easily.) You can make it on the stove or in the crockpot.  I put everything in the crockpot “insert” last night, and then took it out and threw it the insert in the crockpot this morning.  It cooked for 8 hours on low and it was deeelish.  Also, if you’re a point counter, it is 2 points, without the tomatoes.  With the tomatoes, it’s maybe 1 or 2 more, per one-cup serving.

Black Bean Soup

2-15 oz. cans of fire roasted tomatoes, undrained

2-15 oz. cans of black beans, undrained (I accidentally drained them this time and it didn’t take too much away from the soup)

4-6 oz. of chorizo, cut into pieces

1 sweet red pepper, diced

1 onion, chopped

2 tbsp. cooking sherry

2 tbsp. cumin

2 cloves of garlic, minced.

bay leaf

the juice of one lime

cilantro

salt

Combine everything into the crock pot except for the lime, cilantro and salt.  Heat on low for at least 4-5 hours (I did it for 8 today, and it was perfectly fine…).  About a half hour before serving, squeeze the lime into the soup, and add cilantro.  Heat through and serve.

It’s so good, ridiculously easy and has a dark, rich color and a spicy, spicy taste.  I LOVE this soup.  I may have another bowl.

One Response to “Blogging Dinner: Black Bean Soup”

  1. Thanks! I love black bean soup. Yumm
    Vicki


Leave a Reply

