Blogging Dinner: Minty Lime Chicken

02Apr09

Cooking is the pits when you’re by yourself.  Normally, I LOVE to experiment with food (or have Marc experiment with food….), but when Marc was gone, I wasn’t really interested in doing much of anything for dinner, unless it involved baking a Mama Celeste Pizza.  This is not an exaggeration.  Last week, I went to the grocery store about 4 times, and each time, I had a more ridiculous shopping trip than the time before.  My last, and most unsuccessful trip yielded a gigantic apple, a bottle of Honest Tea and a dog bone.  And that’s when I was going to hunt down dinner.  I was a hot grocery store mess.

Anyway, I knew that when Marc got home, he would not fail me as I clearly failed myself.   Before Marc left, he bought ingredients to make Minty Lime Chicken (found in our low fat cookbook, entitled Low Fat — how clever).  Since I was not about to cook up a storm while I was alone, Marc picked up the slack upon his return.  Score one for me.

Minty Lime chicken and a delicious salad

Minty Lime chicken and a delicious salad

Here’s the recipe—if you do everything according to direction it should yield 6 servings, but we bought a smaller pack of chicken, and had enough for one serving a piece and a small serving of leftovers, which Marc will take to work tomorrow:

Minty Lime Chicken


3 tbsp. finely chopped fresh mint

4 tbsp. honey

4 tbsp. lime juice

salt and pepper

12 boneless chicken thighs

Sauce:

2/3 c. low-fat plain thick yogurt (like Fage)

1 tbsp. finely chopped fresh mint

2 tsp. finely grated lime rind

1.  Mix the mint, honey and lime juice in a large bowl and season to taste with salt and pepper.  Add chicken to the marinade, turning to coat evenly.

2.  Cover with plastic wrap and let chicken marinate in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes, longer if possible.  Remove the chicken from the marinade and drain.  Sed aside the marinade.

3.  Preheat the broiler to medium.  Place the chicken on a broiler rack (or, if you’re us, on our Cuisinart Griddler–seriously, buy one) and cook under the hot broiler for 15-18 minutes or until the chicken is tender and juices run clear when pierced with a knife.  Turn the chicken frequently and baste with the marinade.  Alternatively, you can cook this on a coal grill.  (Also yum!!)

4.  Meanwhile, combine all the sauce ingredients in a bowl.  Serve chicken with a green salad and the sauce for dipping.

Yogurt dipping sauce and freshly made balsamic vinaigrette

Yogurt dipping sauce and freshly made balsamic vinaigrette

For those of you who want the nutritional info, the chicken itself was 170 calories, with 3 grams of fat.  Not too shabby.

2 Responses to “Blogging Dinner: Minty Lime Chicken”

  1. 1 emily

    that picture makes me salivate… in the least creepy way possible.

    let me rephrase that… it looks like a great chicken!

  2. Hi, interesting post. I have been wondering about this topic,so thanks for sharing. I will definitely be subscribing to your posts.


Leave a Reply

